Flurry of GOP write-ins for primary tomorrow

Essex, Williston, Shelburne, Brandon, Montpelier, Manchester and other towns have write-in candidates

by Guy Page

Vermont Republicans seeking to get on the November General Election ballot for House and Senate races are asking voters in their districts to write in their names at the primary election tomorrow.

Candidates with enough write-in votes (varies with size of district) can qualify for being on the November 8 ballot as a Republican. To date, known House write-in candidates include:

Maryse Dunbar (R-Chittenden-23, Essex Town)
Tony O’Rourke (R-Chittenden-2, Williston)
Matthew Stralka (R-Windsor-Orange-2)
Bruce Roy (R-Chittenden-2, Williston)
Jared Jones (R-Rutland-9, Brandon)
Dodge Gaskill (R-Orleans-3)
Joe Gervais (R-Bennington-4, Manchester)
Debra Davidson (R-Caledonia-1, Barnet)
Mike Donohue (R-Chittenden-6, Shelburne)
Brian Christie (R-Chittenden-22, Essex City), and Gene Leon (R-Montpelier).

These four state senate candidates are seeking a write-in on the Republican ballot:

Dexter Lefavour (R-Washington County, includes Stowe, Braintree and Orange)
Jack Williams (R-Windsor)
Lloyd Dike (R-Addison)
Mellen Kennedy (R-Addison)

The Vermont Secretary of State’s office has a list of all candidates already printed on the primary ballot in all parties.

Categories: politics

2 replies »

  1. Robert Burton – write in for Addison Senate
    Peter Caldwell – write in for Middlebury House
    Gene Leon – write in for Montpelier House

    There are other write ins for Caledonia, Orange, Bennington, Chittenden and Windham, too. Inquire of County Chairs for details.

Leave a Reply