Police Reports

State police honor, promote troopers

The Vermont State Police Awards and Promotions Ceremony Friday, Sept. 15 – VSP photo

The Vermont State Police held its Annual Awards Ceremony Friday, Sept. 15, in the House Chamber of the Vermont Statehouse in Montpelier.

Gov. Phil Scott, Commissioner of Public Safety Jennifer Morrison and Col. Matthew T. Birmingham, director of the state police honored members of the agency and others for acts of heroism and community service, and recognized 15 sworn members of the state police who have received promotions since last year’s awards ceremony was held in October 2022.

The following individuals will received awards and promotions:


Director’s Award

Susan Blain – For your dedicated service to the Vermont State Police and the State of Vermont

Division Commander’s Award

Bambi Mohr – For outstanding contributions in logistics support for the Vermont State Police.
Dale Nelson – For establishing the Vermont State Police as an industry leader in recruiting candidates through social media.
Lt. Douglas Norton – For his leadership style, relationship-building, community orientation and compassion in transforming the functionality of the Rutland Field Station.
Troopers Joseph Galusha, Brandon Groh, Gregory Mills and Austin Soule – For their prompt actions on September 15, 2022, disregard to your own personal safety, while ensuring the safety of nearby victims and uninvolved citizens, and the apprehension of the accused.

Lifesaving Award

Sgt. Todd Stackhouse and Troopers Omar Bulle and Shawn Cavic – For their actions on Sept. 11, 2022, in pulling individuals from burning and smoking vehicles following a crash.
Thomas Nartowicz – For his actions on Jan. 31, 2023, where he assisted in rescuing a victim who was attempting suicide in severe weather conditions and unsafe surroundings.
Nicholas Tebbetts – For his actions on May 4, 2023, when he assisted in providing lifesaving support to a victim suffering from a gunshot wound.
Detective Sergeant Samuel Truex, Cathy Truex and Ben Truex – For the family’s actions on rescuing and individual who was thrown overboard from his boat.

Combat Cross

Detective Sgts. Jesse Robson and Samuel Truex, and Brattleboro Police Officer Ryder Carbone – For their actions July 19, 2022, in the apprehension of a suspect who was wanted for murder.


Lieutenant Colonel

James R. Whitcomb – Aug. 27, 2023


David W. Petersen – April 23, 2023


Shawn M. Loan – April 23, 2023
Debra G. Munson – May 7, 2023


Paul J. Ravelin – June 4, 2023
Andrew W. Jensen – Aug. 13, 2023
Charles B. Winn – Aug. 13, 2023


Sean P. Brennan – Jan. 29, 2023
Jonathan R. Duncan – Jan. 29, 2023
Steven D. Gelder – July 16, 2023
Michael R. Mattuchio – Aug. 13, 2023
Jason E. Lengfellner – Sept. 10, 2023


Crista M. Maurice – July 21, 2023
Christopher A. Pilner – July 21, 2023
Joseph T. Szarejko – July 21, 2023

Categories: Police Reports

4 replies »

  1. …waiting for the howls of discontent from the usual suspects about allowing big, long, scary-looking guns in the House Chamber… “shocked and horrified” will be the statement rendered by the liberal bedwetters…
    Congratulations to all as we recognize the sacrifices they give and the risks they take rendering service to a mostly-ungrateful society.

  2. God bless 🙏 🙏 I thank you all for your service to this great state of Vermont!!