State Government

Maple sugar producer named to VEDA board / 27 other appointments

Governor Phil Scott today announced he appointed 28 Vermonters, including a prominent Lamoille County maple sugar producer, to State boards and commissions in September.

Sugarmaker and forester David Marvin is a sugarmaker is founder of Butternut Mountain Farm, a family enterprise focused on production, processing and marketing maple products from its own farm and hundreds of others, according to his Vermont Preservation Trust bio.

The 125 employee business provides diverse maple products to all market sectors of the food industry. In addition, forestry consulting services are provided to several hundred clients with combined ownership of nearly 100,000 acres. David currently serves as a board member of Shelburne Farms, Vermont Housing and Conservation Board, and the International Maple Syrup Institute. He has a lifelong interest in historic preservation fostered during his childhood in a 1730’s house his father moved to Vermont from Connecticut. His nursery school pal and (later) prominent conservationist Paul Bruhn was a frequent visitor and helpful companion in numerous antics. David and his wife Lucy reside in Hyde Park nearby to their their two grown children: Emma and Ira who are engaged in the family business.

Boards and commissions serve an important role in state government, giving Vermonters numerous opportunities to serve their state and communities. The Governor’s office is currently soliciting applications to fill vacancies and upcoming term expirations. All those interested in serving on a board or commission should visit the Governor’s website to apply.

Appointments made by the Governor in September are listed below:

Governor’s Veterans Advisory Council  

  • Keith Baranow, South Royalton
  • Gary De Gasta, Norwich
  • William Canfield, Fair Haven
  • David Carlson, Essex
  • Adrian Megrath, Rutland
  • Richard Farmer, Springfield
  • Stephanie Wobby, Milton
  • Brenda Cruickshank, Northfield

Vermont Veterans’ Memorial Cemetery Advisory Board              

  • Judee Chatot-Travis, Barre
  • Christopher Palermo, Morrisville
  • Richard Reed, Leicester
  • Kenneth W. Gragg, Jr., Burlington

Community High School of Vermont      

  • Eric Peterson, South Burlington

Advisory Council on Special Education  

  • Rene Sanchez, Williston
  • Dana Lesperance, Waterbury
  • Kimberly McNamara, Jericho

Vermont Housing Council

  • Heather Starzynski, Rutland

Vermont Labor Relations Board

  • Robert Greemore, Barre

Board of Medical Practice          

  • Stephanie Lorentz, Rutland

Vermont Enhanced 911 Board  

  • Angela Eastman, Orange

Justice of the Peace

  • Chuck Gregory, Springfield

Vermont Economic Development Authority       

  • Kiersten Bourgeois, Swanton
  • Peter Elwell, Brattleboro
  • David Marvin, Hyde Park

Governor’s Council on Physical Fitness and Sports          

  • David Butsch, Berlin
  • Laurie Knauer, Castleton
  • Alison Logan, Winooski
  • Connie Tompkins, Colchester

Categories: State Government

1 reply »

Leave a Reply