During a two-hour ‘saturation’ patrol on Rte. 4A in Rutland yesterday evening, state troopers conducted a total of 19 traffic stops, all for operators using a handheld electronic device while operating a motor vehicle.
The purpose of the saturation patrol was to enforce motor vehicle laws, in particular the use of handheld electronic devices and promote safe driving. “The Vermont State Police would like to remind motorists to drive in a safe manner and refrain from using cell phones while operating a motor vehicle,” a state police press statement said.
Vermont’s 2014 ‘distracted driving’ law prohibits handling cellphones while driving. Punishment includes $100-$200 for a first violation, and $250-$500 for a second or subsequent violation within any two-year period.
It’s worse if you violate the law in work and school zones: $200-$400 for a first violation, and $500-$1,000 for a second or subsequent violation within any two-year period, plus four points assessed against a driving record for a first conviction and five points assessed for a second or subsequent conviction.
An individual convicted of distracted driving outside the work and school zones shall have two points assessed against his or her driving record.