Media/Legislator contact list

by Guy Page

“How do I contact my legislator? How do I send a letter to the editor?” These are questions heard by many Vermont newspaper editors. They usually come from people who care passionately about an issue but don’t know how to contact lawmakers or media. Now there’s one online tool that presents this information in a simple, easy-to-use format.

As a free service to our readers, Vermont Daily has assembled an online spreadsheet presenting, on one page, the names and email addresses of most Vermont media accepting letters to the editor and op-eds, and the email addresses and districts of all legislators.

The addresses are separated by county, to make it easier for Vermonters to send their news and opinions to their local media and legislators. Readers are STRONGLY ENCOURAGED to send emails only to lawmakers of whom they are constituents, and to write “from constituent” and the topic in the subject line.

Our part-time legislators receive hundreds, even thousands of emails every week. They have no staff. Letter writers who write in a manner that is easy for them to understand and respond are more likely to receive a response.

Editors, too are more shorthanded than ever, given the revenue shortfalls the pandemic has inflicted on most media. In general, a letter should be written in the body of the email (no attachments), and 300 words or less, with a name, address and phone number the editor can verify if he/she so desires.

Click here to see the Google Doc version. This list is a work in progress. Please email us at news@vermontdailychronicle.com about any faulty addresses. More information about legislators may be found at legislature.vermont.gov.

Media/Senators/Reps by CountyEmail
ADDISON COUNTY
Addison County Independentnews@addisonindependent.com
Vermont Suntheeagle@addison-eagle.com
Senator Chris Bray (D)cbray@leg.state.vt.us
Senator Ruth Hardy (D)rhardy@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Robin Scheu (D) Middleburyrscheu@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Amy Sheldon (D) East Middleburyasheldon@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Peter Conlon (D) CornwallPconlon@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Matthew Birong Jr. (D) Vergennesmbirong@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Diane Lanpher (D) VergennesDlanpher@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Mari Cordes (D) Lincolnmcordes@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Caleb Elder (D) Starksborocelder@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Harvey Smith (R) New Havenhsmith@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Terry Norris (I) ShorehamTnorris@leg.state.vt.us
BENNINGTON COUNTY
Bennington Bannernews@benningtonbanner.com
Vermont News Guide – countywideeditor@hersamacornvt.com
Manchester Journalnews@manchesterjournal.com
Sen. Richard Sears (D)RSears@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Brian Campion (D)Bcampion@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Nelson Brownell (D) Pownalnbrownell@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Dane Whitman (D) Benningtondwhitman@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Timothy Corcoran (D) Benningtontcorcoran@leg.state.vt.us
Michael Nigro (D) Benningtonmnigro@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Mary A. Morrissey (R) Benningtonmmorrissey@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. David Durfee (D) Shaftsburyddurfee@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Seth Bongartz (D) Manchestersbongartz@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Kathleen James, (D) Manchesterkjames@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Linda Joy Sullivan (D) Dorsetlsullivan@leg.state.vt.us
CALEDONIA COUNTY
Caledonian-Recordnews@caledonian-record.com
Hardwick Gazettenews@hardwickgazette.com
Sen. Joe Benning (R)jbenning@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Jane Kitchell (D)jkitchell@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Marcia Martel (R) Waterfordmmartel@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Joseph “Chip” Troiano (D) Hardwickctroiano@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Scott Beck (R) St. Johnsburysbeck@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. R. Scott Campbell (D) St. Johnsburyscampbell@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Martha Feltus, (R) Lyndonmfeltus@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Patrick Seymour, (R) Suttonpseymour@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Henry Pearl (D), DanvilleHpearl@leg.state.vt.us
CHITTENDEN COUNTY
Morning Drive studio call-in 888-414-0303kurt@wvmtradio.com
Charlotte Citizennews@thecitizenvt.com
Charlotte Newsnews@thecharlottenews.org
Colchester Sunnews@colchestersun.com
Essex Reporternews@essexreporter.com
Milton Independentnews@miltonindependent.com
North Avenue Newsnoavenews@aol.com
Shelburne Newsnews@windridgepublishing.com
The Other Paper – South Burlingtonnews@otherpapersbvt.com
The Times Ink – Richmondtimesink@gmavt.net
Williston Observereditor@willistonobserver.com
Sen. Thomas Chittenden (D)tchittenden@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Phil Baruth (D)pbaruth@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Ginny Lyons (D)glyons@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Kesha Ram (D)kram@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Michael Sirotkin (D)msirotkin@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Chris Pearson (P)cpearson@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Jana Brown (D) RichmondJbrown@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Christopher Mattos (R) MiltonCmattos@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. John Palasik (R) MiltonJpalasik@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Erin Brady (D) Willistonebrady@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. James McCullough (D) Willistonjmccullough@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Trevor Squirrell (D) Jericho/Underhilltsquirrell@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. George W. Till (D) Jericho/UnderhillGtill@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Michael Yantachka (D) Charlottemyantachka@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Allysa Black (D) Westfordablack@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. William J. Lippert Jr. (D) Hinesburgwlippert@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Jessica Brumsted (D) Shelburnejbrumsted@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Kathryn Webb (D) Shelburnekwebb@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Hal Colston (D) Winooskihcolston@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Taylor Small, Winooskitsmall@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Martin LaLonde (D) South Burlingtonmlalonde@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Ann Pugh (D) South Burlingtonapugh@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. John Killacky (D) South Burlingtonjkillacky@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Maida Townsend (D) South Burlingtonmtownsend@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Karen Dolan, Essex JunctionKdolan@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Tanya Vyhovsky (P/D) Essex Junctiontvyhovsky@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Lori Houghton (D) EssexLHoughton@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Mary Beth Redmond (Essex)mredmond@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Seth Chase (D) ColchesterSchase@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Curt Taylor (D) ColchesterCtaylor@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Sarah “Sarita” Austin (D) ColchesterSaustin@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Patrick Brennan (R) Colchesterpbrennan@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Robert Hooper (D) Burlingtonrhooper@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Carol Ode (D) Burlingtoncode@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Emma Mulvaney-Stanak (P) Burlingtonemulvaneystanak@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Jill Krowinski (D) Burlingtonjkrowinski@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Curt McCormack (D) Burlingtoncmccormack@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Brian Cina (P) Burlingtonbcina@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Selene Colburn (P) Burlingtonscolburn@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Tiffany Bluemle (D) Burlingtontbluemle@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Gabrielle Stebbins (D) Burlingtongstebbins@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Barbara Rachelson (D) Burlingtonbrachelson@leg.state.vt.us
FRANKLIN COUNTY
County Courier (all towns)countycourier@gmail.com
St. Albans Messengernews@samessenger.com
Sen. Randy Brock (R)rbrock@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Corey Parent (R)Cparent@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Carl Rosenquist (R) GeorgiaCrosenquist@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Barbara Murphy (I) FairfaxBmurphy@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Michael McCarthy (D) St. Albansmmccarthy@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Casey Toof (D) St. AlbansCtoof@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Eileen Dickinson (R) St. Albansedickinson@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Robert Norris (R) Sheldonrnorris@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Brian K. Savage (R) SwantonBsavage@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Lisa Hango (R) BerkshireLhango@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. James Gregoire (R) FairfieldJgregoire@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Felisha Leffler (R) EnosburgFleffler@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Paul Martin (R) Franklinpmartin@leg.state.vt.us
GRAND ISLE COUNTY
IslanderMr.islander@vermontislander.com
Sen. Richard Mazza, Colchesterrmazza@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Mike Morgan, W. Miltonmmorgan@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Leland Morgan, W. Miltonlmorgan@leg.state.vt.us
LAMOILLE COUNTY
News & CitizenMr.news@newsandcitizen.com
Stowe ReporterMr.news@stowereporter.com
Sen. Richard Westman (R)rwestman@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Heidi E. Scheuermann (R) Stowehscheuermann@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Kate Donnally (D) Hyde Parkkdonnally@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Daniel Noyes (D) Wolcottdnoyes@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Lucy Rogers (D) Watervillelrogers@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Avram Patt (D) Morristownapatt@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. David Yacovone (D) Morristowndyacavone@leg.state.vt.us
ORANGE COUNTY
Herald of Randolpheditor@ourherald.com
Journal-Opinioneditor@jonews.com
Vermont Standardinfo@thevermontstandard.com
Sen. Mark MacDonaldmmacdonald@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Samantha Lefebvre (R) OrangeSlefebvre@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Rodney Graham (R) Williamstownrgraham@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Sarah Copeland Hanzas (D) Bradfordscopelandhanzas@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Joe Parsons (R) NewburyJparsons@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Philip Jay Hooper (D) Randolphjhooper@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Larry Satcowitz (D) RandolphLsatcowitz@leg.state.vt.us
ORLEANS AND ESSEX COUNTIES
The Chronicletenas@bartonchronicle.com
Newport Daily Expresseditor@newportvermontdailyexpress.com
Newport Dispatcheditor@newportdispatch.com
Sen. Russ Ingalls (R)Ringalls@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Robert Starr (D/R)Rstarr@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Brian Smith (R), NewportBsmith@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Michael Marcotte (R) CoventryMmarcotte@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Woodman Page (R) NewportWpage@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Vicki Strong (R) AlbanyVstrong@leg.state.vt.us
Katherine Sims (D) Craftsburyksims@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Mark Higley (R) Lowellmhigley@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Terri Lynn Williams (R) Granbytwilliams@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Paul Lefebvre, I, Canaanplefebvre@leg.state.vt.us
RUTLAND COUNTY
Brandon Reporternews@brandonreporter.com
Lake Region Free Pressnews@manchesternewspapers.com
Mountain Timeseditor@mountaintimes.info
Rutland Heraldletters@rutlandherald.com
Sen. Brian Collamore (R)bcollamore@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Cheryl Hooker (D)Chooker@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Josh Terenzini (R)Jterenzini@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Patricia McCoy (R) Poultneypmccoy@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Thomas Burditt (R) Rutland TownTburditt@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Art Peterson (R) ClarendonApeterson@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. William Canfield (R), Fair Havenwcanfield@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Robert Helm (R) CastletonRhelm@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Thomas Terenzini (R) RutlandTterenzini@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Peter J. Fagan (R) RutlandPfagan@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Lawrence Cupoli (R) RutlandLcupoli@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Mary E. Howard (D) Rutlandmhoward@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. William Notte (D) Rutlandwnotte@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Stephanie Jerome (D) Brandonsjerome@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Charles “Butch” Shaw (R) BrandonCshaw@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Sally Achey (R) Middleton SpringsSachey@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. James Harrison (R) Killingtonjharrison@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Logan Nicoll (D) Ludlowlnicoll@leg.state.vt.us
WASHINGTON COUNTY
The Bridge – Montpelier, Berlin, Barreeditor@montpelierbridge.com
The Valley Reporter – Waitsfield, MoretownMs.news@valleyreporter.com
The World – all countyeditor@vt-world.com
Times Argusletters@timesargus.com
Waterbury Roundaboutwaterburyroundabout@gmail.com
Vermont Daily (covering VT State House)news@vermontdailychronicle.com
True North Reports (covering state gov’t)truenortheditor@aol.com
Sen. Anne Cummings (D)acummings@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Andy Perchlik (D/P)aperchlik@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Anthony Pollina (P)apollina@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Anne B. Donahue (R) Northfieldadonahue@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Kenneth Goslant (R) NorthfieldKgoslant@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Robert LaClair (R) Barre TownRlaclair@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Francis McFaun (R) Barre TownFmcfaun@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Peter Anthony (D) BarrePanthony@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Tommy Walz (D) BarreTwalz@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Mary S. Hooper (D) Montpeliermhooper@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Warren F. Kitzmiller (D) Montpelierwkitzmiller@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Kimberly Jessup (D) E. Montpelierkjessup@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Janet Ancel (D) Calaisjanetancel@gmail.com
Rep. Katherine “Kari” Dolan (D) Waitsfieldkdolan@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Maxine Grad (D) Moretownmgrad@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Thomas Stevens (D) Waterburytstevens@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Theresa Wood (D) Waterburytwood@leg.state.vt.us
WINDHAM COUNTY
Brattleboro Reformerraudette@reformer.com
Eagle-Timeseditor@eagletimes.com
Vermont Commonsnews@commonsnews.org
Deerfield Valley Newsnews@vermontmedia.com
Sen. Becca Balint (D)Bbalint@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Jeanette White (D)JWhite@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Sara Coffey (D) Vernonscoffey@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Emilie Kornheiser (D/P) Brattleboroekornheiser@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Mollie S. Burke (D/P) Brattleboromburke@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Tristan Toleno (D) Brattleborottoleno@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Carolyn W. Partridge (D) Windhamcpartridge@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Leslie Goldman (D) Bellows Fallslgoldman@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Michelle Bos-Lun (D) Westminstermboslun@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Michael Mrowicki (D) Putneymmrowicki@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Emily Long (D) Townshendelong@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. John Gannon (D) Wilmingtonjgannon@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Laura Sibilia (I) Doverlsibilia@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Kelly Pajala (I) Londonderrykpajala@leg.state.vt.us
WINDSOR COUNTY
Chester Telegraphinfo@chestertelegraph.org
The Springfield Reporterreporter@vermontel.net
The Vermont Standardinfo@thevermontstandard.com
Valley Newsnewseditor@vnews.com
Vermont Journaleditor@vermontjournal.com
Sen. Dick McCormick (D)Rmccormick@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Alice Nitka (D)anitka@leg.state.vt.us
Sen. Alison Clarkson (D)aclarkson@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. John L. Bartholomew, Hartlandjbartholomew@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Heather Surprenant (D/P) Barnardhsurprenant@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. John Arrison, Weathersfield/Cavendishjarrison@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Thomas Bocktbock@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Alice M. Emmons (D) Springfieldaemmons@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Elizabeth Burrows (D) WindsorEburrows@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Kristi Morris (D) Springfieldkmorris@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Kevin “Coach” Christie (D) HartfordKchristie@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Rebecca White (D) HartfordRwhite@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Charles Kimbell (D) WoodstockCkimbell@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. John O’Brien (D) TunbridgeJobrien@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Timothy Briglin (D) ThetfordTbriglin@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. James Masland (D) ThetfordJmasland@leg.state.vt.us
Rep. Kirk White (D/P) Bethelkwhite@leg.state.vt.us